1938 Mt. Herman School No. 49

Mt. Herman School, No. 49 existed from 1893 thru 1952 School and then annexed to Center ISD.  The first teach in 1893 was L. S. Austin.  In 1910-1911 the teachers were Walter Williams Burnett Booth and J. R. Bruner.  J. A. Gunnels was teacher from 1911 to 1915.  There were 83 students in 1912 and 73 students in 1915.  Camile Minton, James  Minton, Zettie Walker Wood and Vivian Jernigan were the last teachers when the school  was consolidated with Center in 1949-1950.

Front Row:  Dorothy Lou Choat, Fred Johnson, Betty Lou Walker, Royce Earl Ellington, Charles Ray Williams, Maxine Fults, Lola Ray Tyler, Bernice Luman, Tempie Helen Barbee, Loyce Good and Mildred Choat

Second Row:  Emery Joe Luman, Tommy Joe Walker, Jewell Adkison, James Ray Mills, Charles Newburn Wilson, J. I. Johnson, Juanita Chandler, Jewell Dean Lucas, and Ray Adkison.

Third Row:   Calvin Jernigan, Ray Johnson, Betty Ruth Fults, Eugene Johnson, James Gibson Barbee, Margie McCauley, Ila Fay Tyler, Rayburn Chandler, Carroll Dale Mills and William Jernigan.

Fourth Row:  J. B. Taylor, Jr.-Teacher, Laree Chandler, Ruby Faye Walker, Laverne Goodman, Geneva Mills and Ruby Russell-Teacher.

Fifth Row:   Vivian Johnson, Juanita Mills, Betty Sue Choat, Cecile Wynell Eddins, Dorothy Fults, Dorothy Nell Ramsey and Zelma Johnson.